Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed


Congressman Al Lawson

Representing the 5th District of Florida

Congressman Al Lawson Introduces HBCU Parity Act of 2018 to Provide Facility Funding for Land-Grant Intuitions

March 1, 2018
Press Release

WASHINGTON DC — U.S. Representative Al Lawson (FL-05) introduced the HBCU Parity Act of 2018 (HR 5122), a bill that will ensure funding for facility improvements at historically black universities that were established under the Second Morrill Act of 1890 and Tuskegee University.

For many historically black colleges and universities (HBCUs), there is a dire need for deferred maintenance support, particularly for 1890 institutions. These institutions of higher learning serve as agricultural centers for their communities, cultivating the next generation of farmers and ranchers. 

“I am pleased to introduce the HBCU Parity Act of 2018 that will provide much needed resources to our land grant institutions,” said Rep. Lawson. “Having state-of-the-art facilities will allow HBCUs to be more competitive in their recruitment efforts, which in turn, will offer a stronger and more diverse cohort of individuals in the nation’s agricultural industry.”

Historically, 1890 schools have faced several hurdles, including poor infrastructure and access to vital resources necessary for research. This bill is one of the many steps toward providing appropriate funding that will create equity between our nation’s land-grant institutions.

There are 19 universities in the 1890 land-grant system. Florida A&M University (FAMU) is the only land grant institution in Florida’s fifth Congressional District.

Others institutions include: Alabama A&M, Alcorn State University, Central State University, Delaware State University, Fort Valley State University, Kentucky State University, Langston University, Lincoln University, North Carolina A&T State University, Prairie View A&M University, South Carolina State University, Southern University, Tennessee State University, Tuskegee University, University of Arkansas Pine Bluff, University of Maryland Eastern Shore, Virginia State University and West Virginia State University.

Rep. Lawson has 14 co-sponsors for the HBCU Parity Act of 2018: Rep. Frederica Wilson (D-Fla); Rep. Sanford Bishop (D-Ga.), Eleanor Holmes Norton (D- DC), Rep. Alcee Hastings (D-Fla.), Rep. Barbara Lee (D-Calif), Rep. Karen Bass (D-Calif.), Rep Steve Cohen (D-Tenn.), Rep. Keith Ellison (D-Minn.), Rep. Bennie Thompson (D-Miss.), Rep. Anthony Brown (D-Maryland), Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney (D-NY), Rep. Andre Carson (D-Ind.), Rep. Elijah Cummings (D-Md.), and Rep. Charlie Crist (D-Fla.).